Toowoomba Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Toowoomba Speedways news.


An amazing field of forty Street Stocks have nominated for the upcoming Edge Performance & Automotive Queensland Street Stock Title that will be held at Hi-Tec Oils Toowoomba Speedway on Saturday 4 May.

In what will be the sixth running of the Queensland Title, a field of forty nominations will make this event the second biggest SSQ State Street Stock Title in history. Only Gympie, who hosted the title a week after the national title was held in Kingaroy attracted 49 cars to the event which made it the biggest.

With a field boasting ten interstate drivers, the title will be outstanding and is sure to be sensational to watch. It’s an awesome effort by so many drivers willing to make the trip to the likable Toowoomba venue. The field includes former National champion Mark Jennings from South Australia, the current South Australian Champion Steven Gartner from Mount Gambier. Along with these super stars are former Australian number two’s Corey Sandow from Mildura and fellow Victorian Lenny Bates. After running the National Modified Sedan Title in Kingaroy last weekend, Victorian and former South Australian Champion Matt Nelson, makes a return trip to the Queensland at another title crack.

The entire top 5 from last year’s Queensland Title held at Blackwater are all included in the field. Toowoomba’s very own Robert Trapp is the defending Queensland Champion and will be hoping for a strong result on his home track. Last year’s runner-up is the Northern Territory #15 Sam Brumfield who now resides in Murray Bridge South Australia. Queensland number three and Toowoomba lap record holder Nathan Barbeler who currently leads the RMC Excavations Toowoomba Club Championship Series will be one to watch, along with his father David (4th last season) and Bundaberg’s Kane Heidke who rounded out last seasons top five.

The previous winners of each event is as equally impressive:

2018 - Robert Trapp (QLD)
2017 - Darren Giacometti (VIC)
2016 - Stephen English (QLD)
2015 - Josh Arthur (QLD)
2014 - Anthony Beare (SA)

This will be an epic event and a huge thanks must go to all our competitors for supporting the Toowoomba venue and the SSQ. A massive thanks must also go to our sponsors, Edge Automotive & Performance and RMC Excavations for their support of Street Stocks in Toowoomba. This event doubles as round 3 of the RMC Excavations Toowoomba Club Championship Series.

Nominations (40)

Shane Roycroft VIC
Ryan Kahler
Gordon Midolo
John Stoward
Troy Richards
Lenny Bates VIC
Wade Murie
Ben Langton
Matt Nelson VIC
Ryley Haynes
Steven Gartner SA
Jarrod Iacono
Jamie Lock VIC
Sam Brumfield NT
Greg Langton
Callum Auld
Brandon Hough
Fletcher Smith
James Russell
Mark Jennings SA
Kenny Simpson
Bob McCosker
Mick Dann VIC
Corey Sandow VIC
Luke Wilkinson
Rick Cunning
Ben Stead
Andrew Burgoyne VIC
Robert Trapp Q1
Tim Thompson
Peter Thompson
Darren Ciesiolka
Richard Cook
Travis Hutchison
Kane Heidke
David Barbeler
Anthony Wust
Nathan Barbeler
Aidan Scott
Ian Hardsmans

Subscribe to mailing list

* indicates required